News Release

Disaster Unemployment Assistance Available for Six Counties in Mississippi

Font Size Increase Font Size Decrease Font Size
MDES Print this page MDES Email this page MDES Post to Facebook Share Page

For Immediate Release
Date: June 14, 2024

Jackson, MS –

On June 10, 2024, the State of Mississippi received a major disaster declaration (DR-4790-MS). The Mississippi Department of Employment Security (MDES) announced today that Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) is available for the following six counties in Mississippi: Hancock, Hinds, Humphreys, Madison, Neshoba, and Scott.

Individuals who live or work in one of the affected counties and could not work because of major destruction that occurred on April 8-11, 2024, caused by severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, and flooding are entitled to apply and may be eligible to receive unemployment benefits. The Disaster Assistance Period begins April 14, 2024, through December 14, 2024. Each claim will be reviewed to determine eligibility to receive DUA.

Self-employed individuals who were living or working in the affected areas at the time of the major disaster and those who are unemployed as a result of the major disaster may be eligible for DUA. In addition, those who were unable to reach their jobs because the disaster prevented their travel, or who were scheduled to begin employment, but the disaster prevented them from doing so, may apply.

Individuals eligible for DUA are those who:

  1. Was unemployed for at least one week after the date of the disaster
  2. Became the income provider or major support for a household because of the disaster-related death of the head of the household
  3. Cannot work because of an injury caused as a direct result of the disaster
  4. Could not work or lost work as a result of physical damage or destruction of a business; or unable to work because of the physical inaccessibility of the place of employment due to its closure
  5. Was scheduled to have started work and does not have the job as direct result of the disaster.

Individuals in Hancock, Hinds, Humphreys, Madison, Neshoba and Scott Counties can apply online 24 hours a day at or by calling 601-493-9428 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The deadline to apply for Disaster Unemployment Assistance is Tuesday, August 13, 2024.

# # #